Final Fantasy games have such a rich mythology. And it’s a mythology based around many different world cultures.


As a creative writer and novelist I’ve been inspired by Final Fantasy many times. My new novel, which I’m currently working on publishing, actually feature a character who was influenced by Rikku.


But of course, as my own fiction has been influenced by Final Fantasy, Final Fantasy itself has been influenced by many sources.

In this look at the mythology of Final Fantasy XV you’ll see how folklore, Christianty, Buddhism, Jainism, Japanese lore, and more influenced the mythology of Final Fantasy XV.


Let’s take a look.




I’ve made this article as both a video and written. Choose whichever you prefer 🙂

[wpb-yt video=”8TL8gC29BY0″]


The first interesting mythology to Final Fantasy XV is its world. Final Fantasy XV takes place in Lucis, which means “Light”

Final Fantasy XV takes place in the kingdom of Lucis. The name “Lucis” comes from the Latin for “Light”.


It’s very popular for fantasy games, novels, and movies to take names from Latin. Latin is generally considered to be the most melodic and beautiful sounding language. Many of the words we use today are based on Latin, and scholars believe that we hear symbolism in the Latin language that makes the language more poetic, making it perfect for fantasies like Final Fantasy XV.

One of the Latin words you’ll find in Final Fantasy XV is Lucis. It means “Light”. Lucis is the name of the kingdom that player character Lucis Noctis Caelum comes from.


The kingdom of Lucis, “Light”, is the last place in Final Fantasy XV’s world to have a crystal, which makes Lucis a prosperous place. The surrounding regions do not have crystals and are much darker and less prosperous. This is important when you consider the main characters name, “Noctis Lucis Caelum”.



The player character names all have direct translations from Latin. Noctis Lucis Caelum means “Light the night sky”


The main character in Final Fantasy XV is Noctis Lucis Caelum, whose name translates from Latin to mean “Light the night sky”. The light is the kingdom of Lucis, which literally means “Light”. The “night sky” is the surrounding, darker areas of Final Fantasy XV’s world.


Noctis Lucis Caelum is joined by other player characters. And all their names can be translated from Latin.


Ignis Stupeo Scientia can be loosely translated to mean “Fire Stunned knowledge”. Difficult to discern a direct meaning from that name, though Ignis is a more serious, scientific character than his cohorts.


Meanwhile, other playable characters Gladiolus Amicitia and Prompto Argentum mean “Little Sword” and “Quicksilver”, names which speak about the characters’ personalities.






Final Fantasy XV also features lots of characters and creatures that are based on various mythologies. Let’s take a look.



Final Fantasy XV’s Al Mi’raj


Final Fantasy features a large rabbit-unicorn, a rabbit with a horn rising from the crown of its head. This rabbit-unicorn is based on a mythical beast called Al-mi-raj, which was first seen in Arabic poetry.


The Al Mi-raj is said to live on the mysterious island Jezîrat al-Tennyn within the confines of the Indian Ocean.


Al Mi-raj are typically yellow, though the one in Final Fantasy is white. The Al Mi’raj in Final Fantasy XV also looks friendly. That’s against the tradition of the mythological beast, which is said to be able to devour humans and animals.


Interestingly, the people who live on the island of Jezîrat al-Tennyn believe that the Al mi’raj can be turned harmless by a witch. Maybe that’s what’s happened with our Final Fantasy XV rabbit-unicorn.


Final Fantasy XV’s rabbit also shows some influences based on the Cabbit, a mythological cat-rabbit that is very popular in Japanese manga, anime and RPGs.





Final Fantasy’ XV’s Catobelpas is based on a mythological creature with the same name. The catoblepas originates from Ethiopia and was first described by Pliny the Elder.


The Catoblepas has the head of a wild boar and the body of a huge buffalo, with scales on its back that give it extra armor. Humorously, because the Catoblepas’ head is so heavy it always points downwards.


In the original legends the catoblepas was capable of turning people into stone by staring at them. Or it can just kill people.





Imps are one of the most popular mythological creatures in games, literature, and movies. They’re similar to goblins and are found throughout folklore.


The name imp comes from the Old English name for the scion of a plant or tree, and later came to mean the scion of a house. In the 16th Century people began to use imp as a word for an evil entity, often a serpent or devil.



Behemoth’s are found all throughout literature, and in movies and games. But they were first mentioned in Job 40:15-24. It is believed that they are based on an elephant, rhineoceros, hippo, or buffalo. Others believe that the Behemoth was originally a description for a dinosaur.


The Behemoth are powerful and dangerous creatures. And they’re related to another of Final Fantasy XV’s creatures: The Leviathon.



Final Fantasy XV’s Leviathon

The Leviathon is a creature of chaos and was first found in the bible. The Leviathon is a primeval sea monster. This monster has enormous power and can easily crush a human.


The Leviathon is famously known as the fire-breathing monster that boils the sea when it swims to the surface. Swords and harpoons are not enough to take down these beasts. Powerful attacks and magic are the only hope against them.


Despite their ferocious nature, in mythology, Leviathon are also sought after as pets. Having a Leviathon as a pet was seen as a symbol of great power.








The Naga are powerful semi-divine beings that are found in Buddhism, Hinduism, and Jainism. They are half human half cobras, and are generally depicted as a handsome species who can take the form of either a human or a serpent.


The naga live in underground kingdoms called Naga Loka, which are full of beautiful palaces full of gems. In Hinduism and Buddhism the Naga are particularly important, in which Naga are demigods.



This has been just a quick look at some of the amazing mythology behind Final Fantasy XV.


I hope you’ve enjoyed this look at the mythology of Final Fantasy XV. If you enjoy mythology and stories, be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Youtube. I’ll be covering all your favourite games, movies, and stories, so stay tuned.

Paul Harrison

Paul M Harrison is an entertainment journalist, novelist, and blogger, and a specialist in the theory of storytelling. Paul Harrison can be contacted via his personal website or on Twitter or Facebook.

1 Comment

r · November 13, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Noctis Lucis Caelum means light OF the night sky. its poetic perphrasis for “moon”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *